Nobel Prize Chemistry 2017 to cryo electron microscopy

Nobel prize in Chemistry 2017 to the development of cryo electron microscopy

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017 was awarded to Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson "for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution". Single particle analysis cryo electron microscopy allows the structure determination of proteins and protein complexes in order to understand their basic function and role in disease. The technique is also available at the LUMC and at NeCEN (see the bacteriophage reconstruction of MS2).

Collaborate with us

Please contact us if you are interested in a scientific collaboration, electron microscopy services, or would like to be trained. 

Read more